Weingut Esterhazy Tradition 1

IL MAGNIFICO: PRINCE NIKOLAUS II – A GLORIOUS DISPLAY

The public appearances of Nikolaus II, Prince Esterhazy were characterised by their marvellous splendour – for example, in his legendary dress uniform, sewn with 10,000 pearls and his aigrette, set with 4,000 diamonds. His collections of art and scholarly works today still provide core material for the Hungarian National Museum, while his gardens and palaces in Vienna and environs continue to attract visitors from all over the world. The myth remains alive.


Weingut Esterhazy Tradition 2

JOSEPH HAYDN – MUSICAL GENIUS IN RESIDENCE

Haydn and his music are closely connected with the House of Esterhazy. He served them for some thirty years as music director, with daily access to his own orchestra, composing important works such as his Paris symphonies. For a heavy workload – ranging from composing, to accompanying members of the royal family, to conducing more than 100 performances per year – Haydn was paid in princely fashion, not only in coin but in wine as well!

Weingut Esterhazy Tradition 3

ESTERHAZY PALACE

The palace of the House of Esterhazy in Eisenstadt is one of the loveliest baroque palaces in Austria. Here one can still breathe noble air from the splendid and animated life at the court of our princes. And the ‘Esterhazy Fairy Kingdom’ (thanks, J.W. von Goethe!) still lives to this day in concerts, exhibitions, festivals and civic events. Welcome!

Weingut Esterhazy Tradition 4

WINE MUSEUM – A CELLAR FULL OF CULTURE

The largest wine museum in Austria beckons to visitors in the 500-year-old vaulted cellar of Schloss Esterhazy, displaying more than 700 unique objects from the realm of wine and viticulture, including the oldest beam press in Burgenland. Here the sprawling rooms, hallways and vaults offer the visitor an authentic excursion into the world of wine, illustrating the culture and history of the vine in the Pannonian region. The Esterhazy family became involved with viticulture rather early on; their palace cellars could hold 5,000 Eimer (a measure, not a bucket!) or some 280,000 litres of wine in 1666, and remained in use into the 21st century for maturing wines from the estate’s own holdings.

Weingut Esterhazy Tradition Goethe

THE ESTERHAZY FAIRY KINGDOM

Empress Maria Theresia, Joseph Haydn and many other public figures of their time were closely connected with the House of Esterhazy. The description of this glamorous world as the Esterhazy Fairy Kingdom comes from Goethe’s autobiographical work ‘Poetry and Truth’. Since then the famous saying has come to stand for the entire milieu and works of the House of Esterhazy – from the cultural presentations to the ultramodern winery.

Img 0013 1000Px

250 Years young

The Esterhazy line was founded in 1687 by Kaiser Leopold I. Quite suitably, other prominent early patrons included Empress Maria Theresia, Joseph Haydn, and Goethe. In 2006 vinification was brought up to its current, leading standard with a new wine cellar and the most modern facilities. For a seamless story with a happy ending.

Ferenc17151785 1000Px

COUNT QINQUIN. BLACK SHEEP OF THE HOUSE OF ESTERHAZY

Count Franz ‘Quinquin’ Esterhazy was born in 1715. He became a close confidant of the Imperial couple, as well as Court Chancellor of Hungary and director of the court theatre in Vienna. A favourite among the ladies, Quinquin was famous for his charm and elegance. His French nickname, which means more or less ‘rogue’ or ‘playboy’ lives on as the eponym for our buoyant and vivacious sparkling rosé.

Es001 Boxen 2 A 1000 Px

LUNATI-VISCONTI. THE RED WINE PRINCESS

For centuries the House of Esterhazy has made its mark on viticulture throughout the region. Among other innovations, consort Countess Maria Lunati-Visconti (wife of Prince Paul II Anton, with the help of a French oenologue) was the one to introduce Pinot Noir vines from Burgundy. Other members of the Pinot family were soon to follow, Chardonnay and Pinot Blanc, today among the most significant grape varieties in Burgenland.

Weingut Esterhazy Tradition 1

Il Magnifico: Fürst Nikolaus II.
- eine prächtige Erscheinung

Die Auftritte des Fürsten Nikolaus II. Esterházy waren von sagenhafter Pracht, etwa in seiner legendären Paradeuniform, besetzt mit 10.000 Perlen und der Aigrette mit 4.000 Brillanten. Seine Kunst- und Wissenschaftssammlungen begründen bis heute die Nationalsammlung Ungarns, und seine Gärten und Schlösser um Wien ziehen ungebrochen Besucher aus aller Welt an. Der Mythos lebt.

Weingut Esterhazy Tradition 2

Joseph Haydn.
Das Haus- und Hofgenie

Haydns Wirken ist eng mit den Esterházy verbunden. Bei ihnen ist er rund 30 Jahre lang Kapellmeister, hat täglichen Zugang zu einem eigenen Orchester und schreibt wichtige Werke wie die Pariser Sinfonien. Für sein Arbeitspensum, das vom Komponieren übers Musizieren mit den Fürsten bis zu weit über 100 Aufführungen pro Jahr reicht, wird Haydn fürstlich entlohnt – unter anderem in Wein!


Weingut Esterhazy Tradition 3

Schloss Esterházy

Das Schloss der Esterházy in Eisenstadt ist eines der schönsten Barockschlösser Österreichs. Hier atmen Sie noch adelige Luft aus dem glanzvollen und bewegten Leben am Hof der Fürsten. Und auch heute lebt das „Esterházysche Feenreich“ (J.W. Goethe) weiter in Konzerten, Ausstellungen, Festen und gesellschaftlichen Events. Willkommen!

Weingut Esterhazy Tradition 4

Weinmuseum –
Ein Keller voll Kultur

Im rund 500 Jahre alten Kellergewölbe des Schlosses Esterházy lockt das größte Weinmuseum Österreichs mit über 700 einzigartigen Objekten rund um Wein und Weinbau, darunter die älteste Baumpresse des Burgenlands. In den weitläufigen Räumen, Gängen und Gewölben bietet es dem Besucher einen authentischen Ausflug in die Welt des Weins und veranschaulicht Weinkultur im pannonischen Raum. Die Familie Esterházy brachte sich früh in den Weinanbau ein. So konnte der schlosseigene Keller 1666 5.000 Eimer oder rund 280.000 Liter Wein aufnehmen und wurde noch bis ins 21. Jahrhundert zur Lagerung der Weine aus den eigenen Besitzungen genutzt.

Weingut Esterhazy Tradition Goethe

Das Esterházysche Feenreich

Kaiserin Maria Theresia, Joseph Haydn und viele weitere Prominente ihrer Zeit sind eng mit dem Haus Esterházy verbunden. Die Beschreibung dieser glamourösen Welt als Esterházysches Feenreich stammt aus Goethes „Dichtung & Wahrheit“. Inzwischen steht das geflügelte Wort für die gesamte Welt und Wirkung des Hauses Esterházy – von den kulturellen Veranstaltungen bis zum hochmodernen Weingut.

Img 0013 1000Px

250 Jahre jung

Die Linie Esterházy wurde 1687 durch Kaiser Leopold I. begründet. Über die Jahrhunderte prägten die Fürstenfamilien den lokalen Weinbau und setzten immer wieder Innovationen in diesem Gebiet. Im Jahr 2006 wurde mit einer neuen Weinkellerei und modernsten Anlagen die Vinifikation auf ihren heutigen, führenden Standard gebracht. Für eine lückenlose Geschichte mit Happy End.

Ferenc17151785 1000Px

Graf Qinquin.
Der Esterházy Schelm

1715 wird Graf Franz Qinquin Esterházy geboren, der es zum engen Vertrauten des Kaiserpaares bringen wird sowie zum ungarischen Hofkanzler und Hoftheater-Direktor in Wien. Ein Liebling der Damen, war Qinquin für Charme und Eleganz bekannt. Mit seinem französichen Namen, der soviel bedeutet wie „Schelm“ oder „Lebemann“, ist er Namensgeber für unseren heiter prickelnden Rosé Sparkling.

Es001 Boxen 2 A 1000 Px

Lunati-Visconti.
Die Rotwein-Fürstin

Die Familie Esterházy prägt seit Jahrhunderten den Weinbau der gesamten Region. So ließ die angeheiratete Gräfin Maria Lunati-Visconti mit Hilfe eines französischen Ökologen, Pinot-Noir-Reben aus der Burgund einführen. Es folgten weitere Burgundersorten wie Chardonnay und Pinot Blanc, die heute zu den bedeutendsten Rebsorten des Burgenlandes zählen.